NaNoWriMo 2016

NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. I have joined and I’m doing quite well for day three. I kind of partied a little too hard after the Cub’s win.Baseball is huge in my family. My grandfather was a Cub’s fan. Unfortunately, he died five years before I was born. So, pretty much, the rest of us are die-hard Cub fans. I wish he was alive to see it. My mother’s side and her, were born and raised in Chicago, Illinois. Anyway… it’s death to root for another team. I root for Chicago all the way down. Cubs, Bulls, Bears, Blackhawks. I know better. The only team I root for in the NCAA is the Kentucky Wildcats. That would be death from my dad’s side of the family. So, I’m mixed with southern slash midwest.

Anyway, my region is doing okay. I believe we have 347 novelists in my region. We are knocking down six thousand words a day. The goal is to shoot for 50,000 words. The key is to get in a habit and write. It doesn’t have to be pretty. I’m a perfectionist so guess what? It has to be perfect in my eye. I’m working on it! Anyway, I’m also an overachiever. I’m now on day three and I already have 25,000 words down. I had to rewrite my book. I changed Christian’s name to William. I love that name, so I chose William. It was my first replacement name. Since another popular series has Christian, I opted to use William. Will for short. I made a new prologue and epilogue for it as well. Some of my words are flipped backwards. I know I have a problem with that. I think it’s from mild dyslexia. Even on my blogs, I’ll flip my words around or put a strange word in there. My youngest son, third child is currently being diagnosed with dyslexia. I also believe our youngest daughter is color blind. But hey! I can handle everything. I have 25K words down. And then I noticed all these badges you can earn. So, little perfectionist me has to tone it down a notch. I don’t want to be finished with book 2 in three days. I need to stretch it out, once I hit the 50,000 mark. This one will be a heavy novel. It won’t be short. I expect it to be over 100,000 words. I had to split book 1 up because it was too long. That will be the only book, I’ll split.  Book 3 will probably be over 140,000 words. If I put those three books together, it will put me at 300,000 words. That leaves me 700,000 words to split in the following three books. My goal is to hit a million words in six books. I would like to hit two million words by the time I’m finished with my series.

These are the words that won’t be in any of my novels: copper, crimson, “oh my,” GD, or anything relating to inner goddesses, tiger,lioness, or anything like that. He filled me up with joy would be a much better selection. I’ve also removed the bets. It seemed pointless and dumb. Feather remains and Rosalie… will still wreck cars. I’m leaving all the story lines alone… except for Jeannie’s. I’m still tweaking her story line. I’ll be able to pay for my illustration here shortly. You will see Ian return at some point. We need to change a few things on Jeannie and change Christian/William up a lot. His face is longer than that. And we need to finish changing his name over to William. I can’t use Tristian because… you will see why in a few books down the road. That name is already in play. And Tris is too close to Tris from another series. It’s hard to come up with a name that another series hasn’t used much of. I can’t use Zachary… that’s my son’s name and it’s too weird. Anyway, that name is in play already but in a different form. I have a ton of characters. Raz is one of my favorites along with Ian. Watch what the dynamic duo in book 4. Ian gets a pair with Raz’s help. They are a mess together. Zane will turn into the scientist that he is. He won’t escape his lab but he does gain a friend. I have big plans for Zane in the future novels.

At the end of book 2, it will preview for the new book 4. I’m shifting the books back by one book. So the former book 2, will be the new book 3. I am using temporary book covers. The first five are ready. These are just place holders until I finish paying my Illustrator. Thankfully, he’s working with me. He could have been a dick. I won’t use anything until I know it’s paid off. Ian is the first character, I’m paying off. I need him, since he is the flagship of my series. And when you have a ton of medical issues flying at you, it makes self-publishing extremely difficult. What about editing? Well… considering the person who did the job did little technical issues, I won’t be hiring one again. Considering the other bodies of work, no editor or team of editors are perfect. But if you’re paying them the big bucks, that shit better be checked with a gold pen. I’m better off, putting that money in marketing. No book will ever be 100% correct. I have problems with my commas. That’s the only thing, I’m struggling with. I can catch everything else on my own. They usually make mine worse. Nope, won’t be hiring another one. I don’t care.

Anyway, that’s where I’m at. I’m getting shit done.

 

Leave a Reply

